Tag Archives: money

{Review} How To Give Up Shopping

how to give up shopping

How to give up shopping (or at least cut down): The journey back to conscious spending by Neradine Tisaj
Read August 2016
2 stars

addtogoodreadsYES

Synopsis

Read any finance book and it will tell you to spend less and save more. But a financial planner telling a shopaholic to simply save more money is like a marathon runner telling a morbidly obese person to just exercise more. Where do you start? How do you go from finding refuge in retail therapy to being able to walk past your favourite shop with your savings intact?

Stressed, time-poor and addicted to the buzz of a newly purchased item, Neradine Tisaj had a definite shopping problem. But when she decided to try to save, no one could offer her advice that related to her lifestyle. One planner told her to find a husband and live off the one salary. Another told her to stay in each Saturday night and eat boiled eggs. Determined to both enjoy life and save money, Neradine devised a plan to find a way back to conscious, healthy spending – without forgoing a busy social life. Packed with truly helpful tips and cheeky anecdotes,

HOW TO GIVE UP SHOPPING is for anyone who would like to save but also live. After all, man (an woman) does not live on boiled egg alone.

Review

While this was an entertaining read, it still didn’t tell me anything that I didn’t already know. I commend the author for bravely discussing her shopping addiction with the world. While it was humorous in some parts, it all just basically came down to common sense. Well that I what I got from the overall story.

{Review} Release Me (Stark Trilogy #1)

release me UK cover

Release Me by J Kenner
Stark Trilogy #1
Read May 2013
5 Stars

addtogoodreads

Synopsis:

For fans of “Fifty Shades of Grey” and “Bared to You” comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms.
“He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist. ”
Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me.
Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past–and risk breaking us apart.
But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him–and us–forever.
“Release Me “is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.

Series Reading Order:

#1 Release Me
#2 Claim Me
#3 Complete Me

Review:

OMG!!! Like how a moth is drawn to the light, I was drawn to this book and was immediately sucked into another world. I never wanted to leave it. The characters are so strong and well scripted. The story line just flows perfectly; it’s like actually watching it play out in front of you. I felt Damien and Nikki’s every emotion along their journey.

“Do you know what passion is?”
I blink, confused.
“Most people think it only means desire. Arousal. Wild abandon. But that’s not all. The word derives from the Latin. It means suffering. Submission. Pain and pleasure, Nikki. Passion.” The flash of heat that burns across his expression is unmistakable. “Do you trust me?”

The only problem is that it was over too soon; or I just read it way too quickly.

One if your a fan of the Crossfire Novels.

{Review} Beautiful Bastard (Beautiful Bastard #1)

beautiful bastard cover

Beautiful Bastard
Beautiful Bastard #1
Read March 2013
5+ Stars

addtogoodreads

Synopsis:

An ambitious intern. A perfectionist executive. And a whole lot of name calling.

Whip-smart, hardworking, and on her way to an MBA, Chloe Mills has only one problem: her boss, Bennett Ryan. He’s exacting, blunt, inconsiderate—and completely irresistible. A Beautiful Bastard.

Bennett has returned to Chicago from France to take a vital role in his family’s massive media business. He never expected that the assistant who’d been helping him from abroad was the gorgeous, innocently provocative—completely infuriating—creature he now has to see every day. Despite the rumors, he’s never been one for a workplace hookup. But Chloe’s so tempting he’s willing to bend the rules—or outright smash them—if it means he can have her. All over the office.

As their appetites for one another increase to a breaking point, Bennett and Chloe must decide exactly what they’re willing to lose in order to win each other.

Originally only available online as The Office by tby789 and garnering over 2 million reads on fanfiction sites, Beautiful Bastard has been extensively updated for re-release.

Series Reading Order:
Standalone series with interconnecting characters

#1 Beautiful Bastard
#1.5 Beautiful Bitch
#2 Beautiful Stranger
#2.5 Beautiful Bombshell
#3 Beautiful Player

Review:

OMG! Finished this in two days and still want more. It was so delicious, I just sunk in and stayed there. There is nothing bad I can say about this book. The story started from the first page and didn’t stop til I closed the book. The main characters were on fire and I love the clever use of different fonts to show both on their view points.
Don’t be fooled by the author; it is actually two different people. Nothing wrong with this, it didn’t stop me.
Will be waiting for the next one now